"We are still in Greece, continuing to enjoy our Holiday on the Peloponnese. We had such a great time with Marco. We realize how fortunate we were to have him show us all the local places now that we're on our own. Thanks for all your help" ..... Anni

S/Y Alba
Atlantic '55


Alba Home

Skipper

The Yacht

-Interior

-Navigation & Safety

-Specifications

Skipper

Itineraries

Rates

Photo Gallery

Testimonials

Booking Conditions

Contact

Testimonials- Set I



Throughout the years we got lots of letters from satisfied customers. Here are a few:

2017

Kristina, Patty, Jordan, and Taryn     Maine, USA  
5/13/17 - 5/18/17
This was our best adventure yet.   Sailing with Patrik was wonderful.  He is very professional, knowledgable, and friendly.  He definitely knows the sea and his yacht.  This was his first charter of the season, so the weather was a bit chilly at times with the wind, but Patrik planned our course to make us comfortable and it was delightful.  I personally loved Kythnos the best.  Small village and very welcoming.  Patrik was a great tour guide, suggesting places to see, eat, and relax.  We will never forget this time together and all the friends we made along the way.  Special thanks to Betty for helping with the booking and planning. This family is amazing.  
Thanks,

2016

Lynne B., Carrie B., Carrie P. and Nicole on Sept 30, 2016
"Captain Patrik, Betty and Marcos: Not only did the four of us have an incredible experience sailing the Cyclades for 12 days on the "Anastasia," but we gained life-long friends. Captain Patrik is a very skilled yachtsman, and that is paramount in any boating charter. Betty managed the entire booking transaction, and numerous questions from the four ladies (ages 48 to almost 70), over a seven month period, with professionalism, accuracy, patience, "local tips", and kindness; ...and Marcos, well, his mastery of the seas, and knowledge and expertise of worldwide sailing, shared with Patrik over many years, culminated in an extraordinary adventure for all of us. As for myself, I am returning to Syros (home berth of the Anastasia and a "must see" charming Island) next Spring to work with an animal rescue organization, then on to Crete to help teach English. We highly recommend this 'family-owned' business, you will not be disappointed. With Grateful Hearts: Lynne B., Carrie B., Carrie P. and Nicole. (PS: Hugs for your two rescues; a big thank you to David from S. Carolina for referring us (See Matt Barrett's Greece); and, honor to the gracious and loving people of Greece.)"

Bianca & Eugene from Boston - 29/7/2016
Thank you Patrick, Marco, and Betty for a fantastic trip! This was our first time in Greece and my first time sailing, and the bar has now been set very high. Sailing was a fantastic way to explore the Cyclades without schlepping our luggage from ferry to ferry, and I highly recommend booking with THIS CREW.
We only had four nights open on our trip, but Betty was very accommodating and helpful with creating an itinerary that worked with our schedule. She (expertly) matched us with another couple the share the boat with, and everyone got along great. The boat was also beautiful and very comfortable.
Patrick and Marco were wonderful to sail with, and truly proved themselves to be master mariners. The winds were strong and the waves considerable, but Patrick and Marco made sailing through it all FUN… and almost look easy. ? We always felt that we were in very capable hands. They were also very knowledgeable about all the islands and ports (Marco is a veritable celebrity in many of them, and understandably so!) We ate some especially great meals and saw some beautiful hidden places, all thanks to their insights.
We miss having the salt in our hair! Thank you so much for a wonderful trip - we can't stop raving about it to all our friends! Come visit if you are ever in Boston. ? Ge?a µa?!

Tali A - 11/7/16
We had a great time on board the Anastasia sailing with Patrick between the wonderful Greek Islands.
We loved the nights when we docked in the bays and Patrick proved to be a very good cook.
We had lots of sailing time without engine and were luck to see dolphins come near the boat.
We felt very safe with Patrick who is very professional and an experienced skipper.
It's a great vacation, very relaxing and it was a very good choice to go on the Anastasia and have Patrick as our skipper.

2015

Jason from New York - 04/09/2015
The only regret I had about our trip on the Anastasia was that we didn't stay longer. The 4-day voyage was fantastic for our group of 4 fun-loving couples, but I wish we had 4 more days! Patrick and Toby were expert sailors, even when the going got a little tough, they stuck with it and did everything they could to keep us comfortable. Seeing the Cyclades from a sailing yacht is so much better than sticking to the main islands via ferry or plane, as we were able to see amazing places and have the best meals of our vacation for next to nothing on the smaller islands of Syros and Kythnos. I hope to sail again with them in the future!

Duane K & family from Russell, Manitoba, Canada - 20/08/2015
This was our first family trip to Europe and the decision to see Greece was based on visiting the Greek Islands and enjoying the Aegean sea. Visiting several islands on a sailboat was perfect and the experience was wonderful. Even though it was our first time on a sailboat Patrik made us feel safe and comfortable. Once we got used to the motion it was very enjoyable for all of us. Patrik and Toby were great sailors and hosts and made the trip very enjoyable. I would recommend the Anastasia for anyone who wants to have a personal experience enjoying the Greek Islands.

David and Tamara S from The Woodlands, TX - 30/07/2015
We had the most wonderful seven days on the Anastasia! Patrik and Toby were so nice and accommodating. We shared several meals together and they took us to places in Greece we could have never seen otherwise and showed us sites too beautiful to describe. We always felt safe in their capable and knowledgable hands. They let our 16 year old son sail the boat a couple of times and taught us all how to tie a couple of knots. The whole trip was magical! The boat was beautiful and they made us feel like it belonged to us! Now, when I listen to the music Patrik played on the boat while we were sailing, it takes me right back to the beautiful blue ocean we sailed for seven days. And my comments would not be complete without mentioning Betty. She was so easy to work with and made booking the trip so easy. And I loved that she came down to the boat to meet us and see us off! Thank you all for the trip of a lifetime! I'm already wishing we were back on the boat sailing through the Greek isles!

Giovanni B from Varsavia - 28/07/2015
Sailing with the Atlantic 61 was fantastic. The yacht is very comfortable and the crew was very friendly and professional. Patrik and Toby were able to show us wonderful islands, wild beaches and characteristic villages. I can advise this holyday to people that want to see the most beautiful islands in Greece living the sea life style in the best way . There is only one problem, after this no more holidays in the hotel. Thanks to all staff of Vacation Yachting. Giovanni and family.

Annie & Paul from Portland, Oregon - 26/06/2015
Our family (mom, dad & 9 year old twins) chartered the vacation yachting with skipper Patrick and first mate Fillipos for a cruise around the Cyclades. We met the boat in Ios and sailed to Sikinos, Folegandros, Milos, Sifnos, Serifos and Syros. Patrick and Fillipos were great, the sailing was awesome and they were able to really show us around to places that we would never have found on our own. Patrick and Fillipos were knowledgable enough to show us where to go and flexible enough to allow us to change the plan and stay a second day on our favorite island. Our kids had a great time, got to sail the boat and really enjoyed themselves. Our only regret was that one week was not enough as we would have liked to spend 2 to 3 days at a few different islands. Betty was fantastic at helping us to arrange all the details via email, she went above and beyond what I would expect from a charter. We highly recommend chartering with vacation yachting for a journey of a lifetime. Sent from my iPhone.

Paul G from Billings, MT - 22/06/2015
We just returned from a wonderful sailing vacation .June8-15,2015. We were three couples who just conpleted a bicycling vaction in Croatia so it was a perfect relaxing way to end our vacation. We sailed the Cyclades the weathewr was awesome and saw six island which were all beautiful and different. We were also able to meet Betty(Patrik's mom) in Siros what a great lady who I made all the arranngements with over the internet!! Philipos and Patrik were great hosts and very knowledgable sailors we always felt safe with these men. Philipos is also an amazing chef and prepared a few meals on the yacht for us. The water is so beautiful and so peaceful, it was a bit cooler than i thought it would be but will gladly trade the cooler temp. for fewer people. I was one of the items on our bucket lit!!! Thanks for the memories, would recommend this holiday for everyone!!!

Heather, Spike, Rusty and Max W from Seattle, WA - 21/04/2015
What a wonderful way to spend Spring Break with our family. It may have been a bit chilly at times, but the warmth of our crew and time spent amongst several enchanting islands made it all worth it. Jorgos and Patrik immediately made us feel at home, encouraging us to get out and see the islands by telling us what each one was known for and where to find the best restaurants. We had incredible experiences; hiking, eating, sailing and even getting to a hard to get to ruin. The best compliment I can give to this fantastic crew is that my youngest said the sailboat trip was the best part of our whole trip…well that and Zas Cave on Naxos. Thank you so much Jorgos and Patrik for keeping us safe while we had a wonderful adventure. We look forward to a return trip maybe next year.

2014

Joselyn B from California - 20/11/2014
We very much enjoyed both Fillippos and Patrick. They were knowledgeable, helpful, and delightful. The highlight of our trip was a day on a private beach with a home cooked Greek meal made by Fillippos after a swim in the gorgeous aqua colored water. He seemed to enjoy cooking for us as much as we enjoyed his meal. Truly delicious! It was great meeting you and your family. Thank you for everything!

Janice Moran from Australia - 19/10/2014
What a wondourful experience! Sailing with Patrick and Fillipos was a unique experience which will be in our memories forever. They made every day an adventure, filled with new sights and pleasures we would not have found on our own. Their knowledge of each island we visited was outstanding, making our holiday so much more enjoyable. We would do it all again in a heartbeat and would not change a thing.

Martin and Melinda Trevena from Australia - 06/10/2014
I could not recommend this experience more highly as it was fantastic. Philiopos(Skipper) and Patrik(Co-Skipper) did everything they could to make this the perfect trip for all of us. We fished for Tuna, Sailed and ate in great company with them both. Philipos showed us his expert greek cooking and Patrik was well versed on local places to visit and the best places for great authentic greek meals custom to each island. My web site contains a few of the many beautiful images I was able to capture while on this trip and melinda and I would both be more than happy to do this trip again with Vacation Yachting as soon as we can arrange it. Many thanks to Betty for being a gracious host and helping us so much with the arrangements for the trip. Great company. Please feel free to email me if you require any information about this company and how they looked after us in our trip with them.

The K family from Switzerland - 06/10/2014
The whole Kunz family (5!) has a wonderful time on Anastasia . Filippos and Patrick did a great job being our skippers. The weather could have been better…but nevertheless the sea, the islands, the swimming, the company were gorgeous ! Thanks for a great time, an octopus meal, some " knot skills", and so much more …

Jesus, Arantxa, Antonio & Maria from Spain - 09/09/2014
Back to our ordinary life, we remember those five days at the Anastasia as a wonderful experience. We enjoyed a lot and miss that peaceful moments sailing through the blue waters. Two couples and three teenagers found the boat more than big and comfortable. Patrick and skipper Billy Joe were very nice to us and very professional also. Always helpful and keen to help us to take advantage of our holidays at the Cyclades. We sailed safely and smoothly even in very windy days. Great experience. Very advisable.

2013

José e Rosane Pagliuca from BRASIL wrote at 23.10.2013:

WE WANT SAY THANKS FOR ALL. THATS RAN PERFECT. NICE YACHT, GENTLY SKIPPER AND 1ST OFFICER. CYCLADES, OCT. 2013.WE´LL WISH COME BACK ANOTHER TIME.

Tracy Tanner from Australia wrote at 17.10.2013:
Hi Betty I just wanted to write and thank you and Marcos and Patrik too for our wonderful three nights on the Anastasia in September. We really had a fantastic trip. Marcos was so friendly, knowledgeable and entertaining and he is a fantastic cook as well!!! We really enjoyed his company and loved exploring three of the Greek Islands. Our only complaint is that our trip wasn't long enough. We will definitely be recommending the Anastasia to friends and one day we hope to come and meet you again and explore some more of the beautiful islands of Greece. All the very best, Tracy and Andrew Tanner Nicole and Chris Pelchen Australia

Lori, David, Jake & Aaron Stein from New York wrote at 11.10.2013:
Dear Betty, Marco & Patrik, We can not thank you enough for the AMAZING week we spent with you aboard the Anastasia August 8-14, 2013! As a group of 8 with 4 adults & 4 kids we were not sure how sailing for a week through the Cyclades would work out. Marko & Patrik could not have been more accommodating. We were all made to feel comfortable & welcome from start to finish. We felt safe on windier days & thoroughly entertained both at sea & in port. Our kids will NEVER forget diving off of the Anastasia into the inner tube with Patrik (& we have photos to share!) The variety of islands we visited was perfect. Each offering something a bit different from the next. We truly loved our Greek sailing experience & can't wait to visit again!

Marco, Bettina, Celina, Flavia from Switzerland wrote at 01.09.2013:
Beautiful 60ft yacht in great condition with very cosy and well maintained interior. 4 superb cabins and bathrooms. Fantastic crew with an extremely experienced and very friendly Greek skipper, Marco, who knew the islands and surrounding waters inside out. He and his co-skipper, were very flexible and highly adaptable to the needs of the guests concerning route and special wishes. The crew stayed in the background and only stepped in when requested by the guests leaving the boat at the guests disposition at all times once anchored. At the same time skipper and co-skipper were always happy to provide local tips that lead us to the most beautiful sites of the individual islands we visited and resulted in delicious meals in local tavernas run by family businesses. We were travelling with 2 children (9 and 11 years) and 2 adults beginning of August but there would have been easily room for 8 adults on the boat. Our 5 day trip from Mykonos to Santorini visiting Paros, Folegandros, Ios on the way was absolutely magic. We also spend 2 nights in lonely bays. We can highly recommend the skipper, his crew, the boat and the route we took.

Susan Brown from USA wrote at 17.07.2013:
A great deal of research went into our selection of vacationyachting.com for our skippered cruise of the Cyclades. We are a diverse group of 3 couples with varying sailing experience and different visions for the cruise. I believe that Marco was able to help each of us realize our dreams for the trip. We were able to do some sailing if we wanted to, we found adventure, we explored islands with good advise from Marco and Patrick (Marcos son). We experienced authentic Greek culture, off the beaten path and unbelievably good Greek food at reasonable prices. Marco never led us astray (as long as we pinned him down on his directions. Pelicans behind the little church is not enough when every inhabitant of the Island has their own little church!) We could not have had a better guide and host. Marcos wife Betty did all the preliminary work as well as answering our many emails for clarification before the trip. This is a family run business and it was a joy to watch the three of them work so patiently and effectively together. I cannot imagine a better trip and am recommending Marco and Anastasia to anyone who will listen. Stop your research. This is your cruise!

The Coogle Family from USA wrote at 10.06.2013:
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at the end of May aboard the Anastasia and visiting a number of beautiful Greek islands. Betty did a terrific job working out the details for our trip for our family of six (ages 22 - 56)and patiently answering our myriad of questions. Marcos is the captain extraordinaire and is ably assisted by the affable Patrick! We had a marvelous time aboard the roomy Anastasia. Marcos provided us many tips for sites to see and steered us to great places for dinner, viewing sunsets and the best Ouzo! Patrick made us a fabulous pasta dinner on the last evening. We would do this trip again in a heartbeat!!

Doris Herrmann from Sydney Australia wrote at 16.01.2013:
Doris Herrmann -Sydney Australia - Cruise date October 2012 After reading everyone else's testimonials, it was difficult to come up with something original, as everything that has been previously written about Marco, Betty and Patrik is ABSOLUTELY true! Marco is an excellent Captain, Betty is an extremely efficient organiser and Patrik is a wonderful First Mate. Our group of 8, ranging from 16-70 years of age, experienced a whirl-wind adventure on the ?Anastasia? and covered 6 different ports in 7 days. Some might say that this was way too many islands, but Marco was always very obliging and catered to our every whim!! Marco was a fountain of information and always gave great recommendations as to where to eat, swim, hire cars and generally what to do and see at each port. He even caught and cooked a fish for us to eat. Yum! When our group gets together, we never fail to recount the many adventures that we experienced on our cruise around the Cyclades. We are still arguing about which was the best place to visit, and so the only solution that I can see, is to re-book with Marco and Betty and experience another voyage on the 'Anastasia'. At least that is something we all agree upon!!! Hope to see you again, Marco, Betty and Patrik!

2012

Hansen Family from United Kingdom wrote at 01.11.2012:
Having sailed with Marcos some 12 years ago when I was living in London my first time, I was able to find him again and book a trip for my family including two boys. We also brought along a Finish family of four who live near us in the UK. We had an absolute blast and I can promise the kids it will certainly not take another 12 years before we do it again. We flew into Mykonos, did several islands, ate like kings and throughly enjoyed our time. Do not let your time pass onboard without insisting on some of Marcos's famous fish soup. I will never perfect it, but will sure give it my best shot. If your lucky, the first mate will be Patrick and dont forget to stop in Ciros to meet M's better half. Happy Sailing

The Snow\'s from Vancouver, BC wrote at 07.09.2012:
Five of us spent an amazing week under sail with Marco and Patrick. We all agreed there was no better way to see the Greek Islands. It was fabulous to be able to have the flexibility to visit some of the smaller less frequented Islands. The best part was no matter where we landed Marcos and Patrick were able to provide great advice on sights to see and the best places to eat drink and be merry! Best of all we felt like we had the most experienced sailor in all of Greece at the helm. The whole trip was truly amazing...we would do it again in a heartbeat.

Tamara wrote at 01.09.2012:
Wow! What a trip! A group of 8 of us went on a 2 week sailing holiday on the gorgeous yacht 'Anastasia' with Marcos at the helm & Patrick as first mate (& me as the second!). I cannot recommend enough the expertise, friendliness, and professionalism that this family run business delivers. Throughout the booking procedure Betty was always responsive to any inane question any one of us might have, and kept the booking procedure simple and straightforward. Travelling with Marcos is like travelling with a mini-celebrity given that he knows the area so well, every restaurant, every cove, every octopus... His expertise as a skipper though really came to the fore when trying to squeeze into some really tight parking spots in harbour - I was amazed! The personable and friendly nature of Betty, Marcos and Patrick meant that a lot of fun times were had by all of us. Our group had a mixed bag of proficiency when it came to being on a yacht, and catering to everyone's needs was simply not a problem for them. I cannot recommend their services enough and know that if I ever go back... there is nobody else I would rather sail with. Everyone back home who has seen our photos has been green with envy of our trip!

Nadia Ward from UK wrote at 23.08.2012:
8 of us spent 2 weeks sailing the Cyclades with Marcos and Patrick and could not have found better hosts. Marcos has a superb in-depth knowledge of the islands, beaches and tavernas and there is no doubt that he is one of the finest skippers sailing. Marco and Patrick will keep you safe whilst sailing, get you to the island of your choice and we couldn't have had better company for our trip. They are one of the reasons the trip was so extraordinary - the only thing I wouldn't do next time is so many islands in one trip (we set that agenda and the guys just enjoyed sailing!). Betty proved to be highly organised and patient (8 people from 4 different countries!) answering all our questions in advance. Thoroughly recommended as the best choice for a yachting holiday.

Jay and Reda Martin from Littleton CO USA wrote at 01.08.2012:

We had such a great time sailing with Marco. It was a new adventure for us since we had never been on a large sailboat. Each island we visited was unique in some way thanks to Marco's help in choosing which ones to visit. He found gorgeous coves for us to stop and swim in on the way to each island. Even though I don't swim, I never once worried about our safety because Marco was such a skilled captain-even in some pretty big waves one day. We even got to meet Betty while stopping at Syros who was always helpful when booking our trip. Thanks to both Betty and Marco for a memorable journey.

Alison Tinsley from USA wrote at 18.07.2012:
My husband and I rented the WaveDancer for our holiday with three other couples. It was an inspired choice. Marcos, our captain, was an excellent sailor - we always felt that we were in good hands even during rough weather. We made our arrangements with Betty and she was so responsive and informative that everything went completely smoothly. The cabins were cosy and comfortable (I slept like a baby the whole trip), the galley was well equipped and we cooked some excellent meals aboard the yacht, and the deck and big dining table insured that we had lovely starlight evenings. Marcos really knows the Cyclades and he directed us to excellent beaches and charming villages. He also recommended tavernas that your regular tourist would never find. The WaveDancer was very reasonably priced and our time aboard couldn't have been better. We all agreed we'd like to do another trip with Marcos next year.

jennifer contoplianos from San francisco, CA USA wrote at 19.05.2012:
As Greek-Americans, our family decided to journey to our homeland with three siblings over 70 (my dad, uncle, and aunt)to discover lost relatives. This was probalby the last trip that they would take together. After one week of the mainland we were ready to visit the islands as the last leg of our journey. I found Vacation Yachting on Matt Barrett's website - a must for Greek travel! Betty is a delight and a very experienced travel guide, as Marcos is an experienced sailor. Our family had never sailed before and with three adults over 70 (one in a wheelchair), our trip was not exactly like the guests described below; however, Marcos did the best he could to accommodate us - he even fixed my dad's wheelchair that had a flat tire by winding rope around the wheel. That saved us a lot of hardship we would have otherwise had to endure! Originally we wanted to sail to Santorini and Mykonos, but if you look at the map, the two islands are really far out in the sea and with the September winds we were advised to stay in the Saronic Gulf, close to the mainland. I'm very happy we made that decision. We especially loved Hydra, a very quaint island with NO cars or motorbikes! And lots of cute shops and traverns, plus the magnificent views of the sea - the sunsets were amazing! We decided to stay an extra night. All in all the trip was everything I thought it would be if you like sailing early in the morn and sleeping in small quarters with little back support on the "skinny" mattresses. Nonetheless, the yacht was very clean and efficient if you are not with aging adults who are use to the comforts of home. I recommend a hotel for them while the 50 year old people like me can handle it and found the rocking and sailing very soothing and relaxing - I guess it is a matter of preference. Bottom line - Marcos introduced us to some great family restaurants and basically did his own thing while we ventured in to each new port. Betty, is a warm, professional person, and together, they are a great team - both willing to accommodate your family needs. I'm really looking forward to doing this again with out my parents. Santorini - here we come! Best, Jennifer Contoplianos

Jennifer from Texas, USA wrote at 15.01.2012:
We had an amazing time during our week with Marco on the Alba IV. The boat was everything it was advertised to be ( and very comfortable!), and Marco was invaluable. He is so friendly and knowledgeable, and he gave great recommendations based on our interests as to where to eat, swim, play, etc. Our most memorable night was in Naxos where Marco ordered a typical Greek seafood dinner for us. It was AMAZING and had so many delicious dishes we'd never had before, including octopus and a fish with the eyeballs still in!! We also had a very easy time working with Betty. My mom handled most of the reservations, but even when I emailed with questions Betty was extremely friendly and prompt getting back to me. She answered all of my questions and helped put me at ease about everything. She and Marco were very flexible with us even when we had a passport snafu in Athens that delayed some of our party. In all, we would have been lost without them. This was definitely the vacation of a lifetime which none of us will ever forget. I would recommend Vacation Yachting to anyone who has an interest in seeing the Greek Islands- you'd be hard pressed to find a better host and tour guide anywhere
.

2011

Evie from Australia wrote at 14.12.2011:
Our week sailing on the Alba IV with Captain Marco was the highlight of our September 2011 holiday in Greece. The boat was very comfortable and whatever island we docked at, Marco was always able to suggest a great spot to visit or eat. Betty was very prompt at answering all our questions and helping us plan our trip. We will have to return soon to sail the Cylcades as the weather prevented us from travelling that far on this trip.

Melinda Dale from Belton, Tx wrote at 14.12.2011:
We booked this vacation on the recommendation of a friend and it was everything we had hoped it would be. Betty was fabulous with the booking details and patiently answered all of my many questions as this was the first time we had ever done anything like this. Marcos is a great captain and his knowledge of the different islands and what they have to offer is invaluable. The Wavedancer was very clean and comfortable for my family of six adults. This is an awesome way to sail the Greek Islands. We were there the first week of August and it was an amazing experience!

Linc Davis from USA wrote at 16.11.2011:
Trying to find something that interested my wife and 4 children ages 17 - 28 for our first family vacation with all of us together in ten years was a real challenge. From our first contact with Betty though we new vacation Yachting would be it. Betty made all the reservations and planning painless and we even had the opportunity to meet and enjoy dinner with her on Syros. The Alba IV was exactly as pictured and Marco's was everything you would want in a skipper and guide. In each port he filled us in with his extensive local knowledge, arranged and ordered incredible dinners and showed the kids some nightlife after my wife and I retired each evening! They are still talking about the cliffs he led them to and the fun they had sailing with him. Our week with Marco was the highlight of our two weeks in Greece. We will definitely do it again as there are many more islands to explore.

John McDonald from California, USA wrote at 16.08.2011:
June 15-19, 2011 What an amazing and memorable trip! Marco's excellent knowledge of the islands (beaches, cafes, restaurants, sites, etc.)and his easygoing manner allowed us to create a great itinerary from Santorini to Mykonos. And, Betty made planning the trip easy. Friendly and prompt, she was always available to answer questions and to keep the process moving forward. Many thanks Marco and Betty!

Jeff Bovit from New Jersey, USA wrote at 06.06.2011:
My wife and I were looking to do something special to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary so we chartered with Vacation Yachting for a week. We were a little nervous as we had never done anything like this before. The experience was better then we had hoped for. Captain Marco made the trip. His personality and knowledge of the islands, along with his sailing ability, made it the success it was. Also, Betty was terrific in getting back to us and answering all our questions. We highly recommend Vacation Yachting and can't wait to sail with them again.

Craig Wadman from USA wrote at 11.01.2011:
My wife and I spent eight days on the Alba IV for our honeymoon at the beginning of September. It was absolutely wonderful. The Alba, also known as Wavedancer, is a beautiful yacht that combines all the comfortable modern amenities with the classical yacht look and feel. The boat was perfect for a honeymoon; at the same time it would be equally perfect and comfortable for up to eight friends as each cabin contains its own closet and head. The boat is great when you are lounging at port while incredibly seaworthy and smooth under sail. What really made the trip was the great direction and sincerity of Marco. Marco is a professional, courteous, knowledgeable and humorous captain who knows yachting and the Greek Islands inside and out. If you are looking for a restaurant, cafe, beach, shop, or anything you can think of, Marco can give you direction regardless of the island. Or, if you are looking to see a specific island, Marco will get you there. Marco even caught and Octopus while snorkeling.....In conclusion, I would recommend a charter of the Alba without pause. Between the boat, Marco and the sights, we had an experience we cherish and will never forget. --Rebecca & Craig. September 2010

2010

Lou Goetz from North Carolina, USA wrote at 26.11.2010:
We booked the entire boat for a group of friends for a week in early October. Started in Lavrio (Athens), and ended in Santorini. Captain Marcos made the sailing easy, and his recommendations for islands and restaurants and activities gave us a true Greece experience.

Jan and Bob Benbow from United States wrote at 02.09.2010:
July 31-August 7 Our trip with Marco and Patrick was beyond our expectations! It was the trip of a lifetime. Marco's impeccable knowledge of each and every island helped to make our trip very special. This included recommendations for special restaurants and local cuisine, beaches, and island specific attractions. The Wave-Dancer was such a perfect place to call home for the week. It is a beautiful boat with all the amenities anyone would want. We really enjoyed each morning while boating to another island. Marco is a great Captain, very safety conscious, and would highly recommend him and his boat to anyone contemplating an island adventure. We cannot say enough thanks to all of you for making our trip so absolutely wonderful!!! And, we look forward to cruising with Vacation Yachting again! Bob and Jan Benbow Ankara, Turkey/Denver, CO, USA

Bob & Jan Benbow from Ankara, Turkey/Denver, CO USA wrote at 29.08.2010:
Charter from Santorini to Syros-July 31-Aug.7 Our trip with Marco and Patrick was beyond our expectations! It was the trip of a lifetime. Marco's impeccable knowledge of each and every island helped to make our trip very special. This included recommendations for special restaurants and local cuisine, beaches, and island specific attractions. The Wave-Dancer was such a perfect place to call home for the week. It is a beautiful boat with all the amenities anyone would want. We really enjoyed each morning while boating to another island. Marco is a great Captain, very safety conscious, and would highly recommend him and his boat to anyone contemplating an island adventure. We cannot say enough thanks to Marco, Patrick and Betty for making our trip so absolutely wonderful!!! And, we look forward to cruising with Vacation Yachting again!

Colette Flanagan from USA wrote at 15.08.2010:

Charter Syros to Syros from august 7-14- Thanks to Marco, a wonderful captain. Great restaurant choices, very safe, nice to the kids, would happily recommend home!

Mark Zyskowski from USA wrote at 09.08.2010:

Charter from Syros to Santorini july 24 to 31. Marcos and Patrick were great hosts for our trip. Not only did they provide us a great sailing experience, but they also acted as great hosts and became one of the family for the week. They never led us astray and kept us on track all week long! We were happy with it as it was! This was a great way to see the isles.
Ken & Shelley Renaud from Massachusetts USA wrote at 29.07.2010:
Charter from june 7 to 16 from Lavrio to Santorini Marcos, thanks for helping us with a dream vacation come true.


Mary & Denis Gahagan from Massachusetts USA wrote at 29.07.2010:

Charter from june 7 to 16 Lavrio-Santorini Captain Marcos, Thanks for a great vacation! It was "perfect". Thanks for introducing us to so many great foods and beautiful places. You made it so easy to fall in love with your beautiful country Greece! This was a trip we will never forget!

Laura Kimsey wrote at 09.07.2010:
Charter from may 28 to june 4 from Lavrio to Santorini. In July 2009, when deciding where to go on vacation the summer of 2010, my sister Karen said, ?What about chartering a sail boat in Greece?? YES! She found Marco on Matt Barrett?s website. Our anticipation and excitement grew to unbelievable hopes and expectations over the next 10 months. We have never done anything like this before. Seldom does anything meet with expectations so blown out of proportion. Marco took our group of 8 family and friends on the vacation of a lifetime. He welcomed us into his home ? the Alba IV, the Sea and all of the Greece we were about to experience. Marco and Betty planned our trip from Lavrio to Santorini perfectly. Sailing for a few hours everyday, Marco then brought us to Islands we would not have otherwise seen. Spending each afternoon swimming, walking /site seeing, eating & drinking and shopping, In the evening, Marco brought us to family owned restaurants. The food was always fresh and amazing, the people always friendly and generous in their hospitality. Each day ended with strolls around port, a final drink at a tavern, then rocked to sleep by the gentle movement of Wave Dancer. Marco is a wonderful captain, tour guide and chef. He exceeded all of our expectations. Truly a vacation of a lifetime! With many thanks Marco and Betty. Peace, Laura Kimsey

Mark Brenner wrote at 09.07.2010:
Charter from june 23 to july 3 Lavrio-Lavrio. We thoroughly enjoyed our Greece vacation, and we can't thank you and Marco enough for all you did to make it so special. We would never have been able to see so many islands in one trip if not for the way we did it with the yacht charter. Marco was absolutely wonderful and so helpful! It made the whole experience much nicer knowing we had him to turn to for advice about what to do, where to eat, etc. I don't know if he mentioned to you, but we had a bit of a panic last Saturday morning when our pre-arranged taxi shutlle did not show up to take us to the airport. We finally got hold of them and they had completely forgotten us. Marco was able to speak to a local cab driver who called his company and they got two cabs sent over to Lavrio to pick us up right away. We made it to the airport in record time (going about 140 km per hour!) Anyway, I felt as though we were rushed in saying our goodbyes to Marco, and I wanted to let him know how much we appreciated everything he did for us during our trip. Thanks, too, to your son for checking us in online the day before. It was a very full flight, and I didn't want to take the chance of being bumped from our flight.


Pam Kimsey from USA wrote at 24.06.2010:
Dear Marco and Betty, There is no way to thank you enough for the adventure of a lifetime! We were so excited when my sister chartered the beautiful Wavedancer for our first trip to the Cyclades, but we had no idea of just how amazing our week would be. None of us had ever sailed before and Marco's love of the open water, the beautiful, varied islands and his boat was contagious. His knowledge of the best places to eat, drink, swim, what to see, and where to hike was limitless and ensured that every day was our new "Best Day Ever" and every taverna was our "Best Meal Ever!" (The actual best meal MAY have been Chef Marco's chicken with vodka and cream sauce,cooked on deck under millions of stars and eaten after a sunset swim in an empty bay turning that impossible aegean blue water into red and gold, within sight of the mystical island of Delos) There were so many times we would look at each other and ask, "Is this really happening?" Marco is a gifted host and made us feel that the WaveDancer was our home. He is so funny and quick witted that he kept us laughing for a week straight. We could not have felt safer or in better hands on any dimension. (He also did not let anyone panic when he let me steer the boat)In short, the only thing that would have made our trip better would have been if Betty had joined us. The time we had with her and her good humored, welcoming presence on Syros was too short--and made us not want to leave Syros! I SO HOPE that someday we can come again and see some of the other islands with you. For us, there could be no other boat, captain or Betty! Best love to you Pam

Michael and Ashley Grinnan from USA wrote at 22.06.2010:

Charter june 7 to june 16 Lavrio-Santorini We had an amazing vacation with Marco and the Alba IV. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Marco was a better resource than any guidebook. If you're going to Greece, I would highly recommend doing it this way. Michael and Ashley Grinnan
Michael and Ashley Grinnan from Lavrio wrote at 16.06.2010:
We had the most amazing time. It was everything we could have asked for and more! Will send pictures! ~Michael and Ashley


Timothy Shorter from Washington, DC, USA wrote at 15.06.2010:

Charter march 26 to april 2 from Syros to Syros From the moment I first got in contact with Betty and Marcos of the Alba IV I knew we would have a great vacation. The 10 of us had an unforgettable trip through the isles, with Marcos being a fantastic guide and skipper. He was experienced, professional, and fun all at the same time! Some of our best memories are of all being on the boat between islands, chatting and enjoying each others' company. Everything about the trip was easy and efficient - from working to charter the course and deal with payment with Betty, to arriving at Syros and meeting them to head to the boat, to sailing the isles and returning to Athens afterward. I cannot begin to describe the incredible time that we all had, and we still constantly talk about places we saw, people we met, and things we did in Greece while traveling with Marcos. On behalf of all 10 of us, I would like to thank both of you for a week of fun, relaxation, and unforgettable experiences. I only hope we are lucky enough to return again for another trip! Some of the other people I went with also wished to add their thoughts: Marcos was so great. He let us do our own thing while still being a friendly, available, hospitable host. He took us out on Paros and we had amazing food together. Plus the boat was great, nothing went wrong, and the weather and price were perfect. Marcos was an amazing skipper, went above and beyond to make us comfortable and happy. The islands were gorgeous and if you enjoy sailing, you'll enjoy this. Definitely an experience to have! Thanks marcos :)

karen Kimsey from us wrote at 13.06.2010:
dear betty and marco, we have just returned to the states after the most incrdible week sailing with marco...there were 8 of us family and friends who all agreed this was the best vacation ever!! we have never done anything like this before and thought the cost would be outrageous...it wasn't..and when the cruise ships pulled in with 300 people we with our little group of 8 felt we were really seeing and experiencing greece in a way we never would have been able...we loved sailing...we went to some of the more popular islands but our favorite night was swimming at sunset at a deserted island and marco cooking dinner for us...the sunsets the great little famiy taverna...the incredible starry nights...it makes you feel alive again!!! i can't recommend this enough...10 stars....karen kimsey

Catherine GUILBERT et Alain PIGEON from FRANCE wrote at 12.06.2010:

Charter from May 28 to June 4 Lavrio-Santorini We have spent on Marco's boat Wave dancer a wonderful week ! The boat is very nice, and comfortable. It was our first wailing experience and it was great. Marco is a very good and amazing captain and passes on his passion for sea and greek islands. Betty is very nice too. He also lets us know very beautiful and interesting places, and good taverns and food. A lot of thanks to Marco and Betty

Patrik Pereira wrote at 19.05.2010:
Charter from May 08 to May 15 from Syros to Santorini: We had the greatest time ever!!! Marco is an incredible skipper. Thanks a lot for the best holiday ever. Hope to sail with you again in the near future. Bye for now. Patrik, Hugh, Silvia, Antonia, William, Peter, Kim

2009

Hello Betty,

We had a wonderful time in Greece and on the sailboat with Marco. We enjoyed his company also and couldn’t have asked for a more good-natured captain and guide. I suspect we will be back in Greece at some point and, if possible, would enjoy another expedition with you all. Marco’s help with restaurants, entertainment and transportation was truly appreciated!

I have attached a couple of pictures that I thought were interesting and you are more than welcome to use them for your publicity purposes if you would like; otherwise just enjoy and delete.

I would be happy to write a letter or provide references for your potential customers if it would be helpful to you – I am not sure how often you update your WEB site so just let me know.

Thank you again for all your assistance up front and to both of you for running a great business and providing the four of us with a wonderful week in the Cyclades,

Markay

David,

I just finished a sailing vacation Kea-Kithnos-Serifos-Paros-Syros-Mykonos with Marco aboard the Alba as recommended by you and I can't tell you what a great experience it was. Thank you so much for your help -- I already thanked Betty and Marco -- and I hope to steer some other customers your way!

Thanks again,
-DR

Good Morning Betty,

We have arrived home from an incredible holiday. We just wanted to let you know that our sailing holiday went way beyond our expectations. It was a holiday we will never forget (and we hope to be back again some day). Marco is a skilled skipper who worked with us the whole time to provide us with a sailing experience that met our needs.He was fun to be with on and off the water, a great tour guide, and a great help with "menu selections". He always knew when to afford us some privacy but at the same time always anticipated our needs. The boat accommodations where also much more that we expected. We had all kinds of room, everything that we needed and comfortable beds.
Not sure what else to say, except that this was a holiday we will never forget. Please thank Marco again for a wonderful sailing adventure. We all appreciate everything that you have done to make this holiday memorable.
Thank-you.
Sincerely,
Dale and Brenda...June 2009

Betty,

Thanks for the email. It was a truly wonderful experience. Marco
was a great captain. He watched over us, gave us excellent advice
on things to do, and joined us for some special meals. We all feel
that we have found a new and special friend.
Now, Robin and I are in Bulgaria, enjoying the Black Sea resort
of Sozopol. While I do have a meeting here, it seems like another
vacation....Give my best to Marco,
Tom...June 2009

We had a great time. It was the highlight of the trip. Marco is
wonderful. He was such a pleasure to hang out with and the boat was very
comfortable. We were so sad when he left us in Ios. We just sat there
and watched him sail away! We will definitely be back. I have attached
a few pictures. Thank you for all of your help in planning our trip
Jean...May 2009

My husband and I just returned from a 6 week vacation in Europe. (April 13-May 24) We spent the first week on the Alba IV, cruising the Greek Islands with Marcos. (April 17-24) Our children and our son's fiance joined us for 2 weeks in Greece and we had the most wonderful family time together.

I can not say enough good things about Marcos. He took us to excellent restaurants and ordered for us. The food was unbelievable!! I have already made it a point to find Greek Yogurt at home. He guided us, told us where to go and was always looking out for us. We hit some rough weather on the last day but I was never once concerned, because I knew he knew what he was doing.

Betty, thank you so much for all your help in setting things up.

David, thank you for your services and for hooking us up with Marcos.

Matt, thank you for your website info. It was very helpful. In addition to the sailboat, we used Georges Taxi Service, The Acropolis Hotel in Delphi, the Arsenis in Meteora and the Attalos in Athens.

We kept a travel blog and I have attached links to your websites.
Check it out. Again thanks.

2008

California

Hi Betty -

We are all safe and sound back in California. We had a unforgettable experience - one to cherish always.

Thank you so much for your help and information. Please our thanks to Marco as well. He showed us a picture of Eros(hope I spelled his name correctly). I told him Marco he should have brought him along on sailing trip. Dan and I have 2 labs - very spoiled dogs!

Thanks again Betty. Warm wishes.

Pilar


Colorado

Dear Betty and Marco,

Well.. I cannot begin to express what a fabulous holiday we had. Marco was far beyond our expectations as a skipper. He is an experienced, enviable captain and I just can't begin to tell you how precious he was to all of us. He was friendly, professional, knowledgeable, patient, present and absent at all the right times. It is obvious he has been doing this for a long time. I feel very fortunate to have had this experience on your boat with my family, close friends and Marco at the helm. I don't think too many people get to do something that special in a lifetime and I feel truly blessed.

The boat was awesome. The accommodations were comfortable. The islands were spectacular and the sailing was truly splendid. Marco is an expert at spotting dolphins and we were lucky enough to see many. We loved your company, dealing with you during the planning stage, and everything else about the experience. I would be very surprised if you did not hear from us again and would highly recommend you to anyone who was thinking about this kind of vacation, however, I would like to keep you a special little secret. Marco is already in high enough demand.

Thanks so much for everything. We had a marvellous time. Coming to Greece was a pipe dream and she didn't let us down. This was my son's graduation gift and likely one of our last family vacations together and it could not have gone any smoother. We would not have changed a thing. We will always be indebted to you both. You will always have a place to stay, access to a vehicle and maybe even a sailboat soon if you ever feel like coming to see the Rockies and the Gulf Islands (which I hear Marco has not sailed yet). We would welcome you with open arms. Please take us up on it sometime. We miss you already Marco. Our only regret is that we didn't get to meet you too.

A very satisfied customer
Kerry and Family (and Friends
)

California

We had a wonderful time with Marcos. He really made a trip fantastic. We hope he has a continued safe voyages this season and hope to meet you both again sometime, maybe in California? The wines are a few of our favorite California varieties.

Again, thank you for keeping us safe and for a very memorable trip.

The Rogers' Family

Anni(Seattle, WA)

Hi Betty,
We are still in Greece, continuing to enjoy our Holiday on the Peloponnese. We had such a great time with Marco. We realize how fortunate we were to have him show us all the local places now that we're on our own. Thanks for all your help.

Best,
Anni

Carole(Chicago, Illinois)

Betty & Marco,
We had a great time! As we told Marco when we left the boat, he was one of the highlights. What a great sense of humor and a fountain of information about Greece. We got home last night at 7:30 p.m. Chicago time -- but our bodies felt like it was 2:30 a.m.! Whew. A little tired today.

Thank you for all your help in arranging this once-in-a-lifetime trip.

Carole

Dan & Margaret, Lauren and Sarah(Missouri)

Hi Betty!

After 26 hours of continuous travel (3 flights with long layovers) we got back home Saturday night. Our sleep patterns are still not right.

What a great time we had! We enjoyed our days in Athens, but by far the best part of our trip was being "boat people" and sailing with Marco. We're glad we decided to go to Serifos so we could meet you and spend some time with you...it was great to meet you and Marco, and we feel like we have two new friends.

Thanks for yours and Marco's professionalism and hospitality, and please give your thanks and warm wishes to Marco.

It's good to be back home, but we'd sure prefer to be sailing somewhere on
Alba IV!


Best regards,

Charles(California)

Thanks for everything! We had a wonderful time. It's hard not being on the boat today!

John and Carolyn(Michigan)
Gary and Linda(Ohio)


"Hello Marcos (and Betty)!
The Hills and Prices have now returned home after some slight delays, but nothing major (no "Happy Fish"). We enjoyed our last night in/around Athens and witnessed a stunning football victory for Greece, beating the favored French team 1-0! To experience this in he Plaka was extraordinary for us!
Again, we want to thank you, Marcos, for providing us with an unbelievable experience in your beautiful country. I can assure you when I say that our "Trip of a Lifetime" exceeded any of our expectations. You are the consummate host and friend and can be very proud in the knowledge that you are without peer in the service you provide.
We also want to thank you for your friendship, as we all feel that it was much more than just a business for you. We had a great time and it was a real adventure! If there is any time when we can provide a prospective customer with our comments/recommendations please let us know. It would be a pleasure!
I hope your trip with your Norwegian friends (3rd time?) either is going well or went well. Please take care of yourself and we hope to see you again in the not-too-distant future.
May your life be full, the seas be kind and always at your back!
Adieu! (I forgot how to say "goodbye until we meet again" in Greek!)
"

Dar and Sylvia (Texas)

"Greece is a land of great beauty and I can´t imagine a more perfect way to explore it than aboard Wavedancer.
The boat was in excellent condition and very spacious. our captain, Marcos, must have been born to this profession. A more professional, capable, genial leader could no be had. Not only aboard the boat, but as well on land.
He was in a large measure responsible for making our cruise the succes that it was.
It was glorious 14 days of great sailing, good friends and a lot to do and look at.
Life does not get much better than this. Each island was unique. Thank you Marco, for making our time in Greece so special - we´ll never forget it, and we will return."


Monika (Seattle)

"Wavedancer, the brightest star I have sailed so far,
With a crew that none compares through nights of calm and days so fair,
And Marco, the man that touched my heart who showed much strength and tenderness from the start. I will greatly miss it all, Wavedancer, by far the brightest star"


Angela Williams (California)

"The epitome of paradis! Marco was a wonderful guide and friend.
Seven days aren't nearly enough to explore this magical area. But, many wonderful memories were made aboard Wavedancer during our short stay."



SAVE $$$

IN GREECE

Visit the New
Globe Merchant Search Engine
to find
GREAT SAVINGS

on
HOTELS & FLIGHTS

click here

Click GO to Find
the BEST AIRFARES!

 

Fantasy Travel of Greece
Travel Agent

Hotels- Car Rentals-
Cruises-Land Packages


To Information Request Form

copyright© 2017Globe Merchant